Leek’s Historic Market Place
Leek’s first market was established by Royal Charter in 1207 and the town is still a thriving market centre. The Market Cross, which now stands in the Market Place, was originally erected, near the junction of Sheepmarket and Stanley Street, by the Joliffe family in 1671. It was moved to Cornhill on Cheddleton Road in 1806 and in 1857 it was moved to the new cemetery. Since 1986 it has stood near to its original site in Leek Market Place.
- General Outdoor Market – Wednesdays, for bargains, quality local produce and life’s essentials.
- Traditional Indoor Markets with over 50 stalls – Wednesdays, Fridays and Saturdays in the Victorian Butter Market building just off the Market Place
- Farmers and Craft Market – The third Saturday of every month, The Farmers and Craft Market brings together local and regional specialist food producers alongside Craft, Antique and Collectors stalls
- Antique and Collectors Market – Held every Saturday outdoors on the historic cobbled Market Place. A fascinating Antique Market with a wide variety of items for sale.
- Craft and Collectables – An intriguing Craft and Collectables Market held in the indoor Trestle Market every Friday
- Sunday Supplement – Award winning food and artisan makers market on the first Sunday of every month a the bottom of the Market Place and through the town streets
For more information, please contact Leek Tourist Information Centre, The Nicholson Institute, Stockwell Street, Leek, Staffordshire, ST13 6DW
web: Leek Tourist Information Centre